Skilled Recognised Graduate Visa (Subclass 476)

About this visa
This visa can be the start of a rewarding journey that can lead to permanent residency in Australia. This visa will give you the right to study, travel and work in Australia and can also give you the right to bring family members with you. The Skilled Recognised Graduate Visa (subclass 476) is usually valid for 18 months. The processing time for this visa can be approx. 17 months.  

Who is eligible for this visa?
To be eligible for this visa you must be a newly graduated engineering student. You must have completed your degrees within the last 2 years from an approved Institution.  You must also be under 31 years of age. You may not be eligible if you have previously been the primary visa holder of a subclass 476 or 485 visa. 

Qualifications Required for application for a Skilled Recognised Graduate Visa (subclass 476)
The qualifications required are:

  • master’s degree
  • postgraduate diploma
  • doctoral degree
  • bachelor’s degree

The study must have been in:  

  • electrical and electronics engineering
  • civil engineering
  • mining and material engineering
  • structural engineering
  • mechanical, production and plant engineering
  • environmental engineering
  • chemical engineering

Your study must have been done at an approved Institution to be eligible for a Skilled Recognised Graduate Visa (subclass 476).  A list of these approved Institutions are as follows:


  • Anna University, Chennai
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
  • Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  • Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad
  • Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore


  • Catholic University of Argentina


  • Federal University of Minas Gerais


  • Universidad Catolica del Norte
  • Catholic University of Chile
  • University of Chile
  • University of Concepcion


  • HUT, Helsinki


  • RWTH, Aachen
  • Technical University of Berlin
  • Technical University of Clausthal
  • TU Bergakademie Freiberg
  • University of Hannover


  • University of Miskolc


  • Amir Kabir University of Technology
  • University of Tehran

People’s Republic of China

  • Beijing Normal University
  • Beijing Petroleum University
  • Beijing University of Chemical Technology
  • Beijing University of Technology
  • China University of Mining and Technology, Beijing
  • Guangzhou University
  • Shanghai University of Engineering Science
  • Shanghai Jiaotong University
  • Tongji University
  • Tsinghua University
  • University of Science and Technology, Beijing


  • University of the Philippines


  • Wroclaw University of Technology


  • TU Kosice


  • Lulea University of Technology


  • University of Dar es Salaam

Are you still unsure of how to proceed? At ISEM we are experts in cutting through the red tape, talk to us.  We can assist with your application, ensure you have the right information and take the stress out of the process.  Your future is safe in our hands.